Beauty Blogger of the Month Nomination

I am taking a break from letter writing and was checking up my blog when I saw that some comments are on queue on my spam folder. Opening it I find that I’ve been nominated for a Beauty Blogger of the Month award. Seriously?!?! I still can’t believe it for I am such a neophyte when it comes to beauty products and such. Anyway, I’d like to say THANK YOU to Cecilia of Cecilia’s Corner for thinking of my blog.

the-beauty-blogger-of-the-month-award

Let me tell you what a Beauty Blogger of the month award is before I get into my entry. This award recognizes the bloggers of beauty around be it in makeup, skin care, hair care, nail care, among others. Cecilia has created this award to allow fellow beauty bloggers nominate the bloggers they like and follow. At the end of this month (or every month that follows thereafter), 4 nominees will be randomly selected by her and entered into a poll to let the rest vote whom they think deserves the award for the month. Of course there is a giveaway with being chosen as the winner. This month it’s the Benefit They’re Real! Push-Up Liner. Who wouldn’t want to get such a prize at no cost, right? So, what are you waiting for? Join now fellow beauty enthusiasts! Here’s the link if you’re interested: http://ceciliascorner.net/2014/07/04/the-beauty-blogger-of-the-month-award-benefit-push-up-eyeliner-giveaway/

Perhaps you may be wondering why the hell am I joining as I know next to nothing about beauty products and such. Well, I think to join is fun and I have great bloggers of beauty that I really want to nominate. So there. Besides, nominees get the chance to win, too!

Well, here goes my entry…

1. Where does your make up inspiration comes from?

I am inspired by my sister, Jocelyn‘s love of cosmetics and how she tried to learn thru YouTube and other blogs since 2012 (or maybe 2011?). She has used my other sister and I as models for new and interesting looks and we have never complained. I wish I can convince her to create her own vlog for others to be inspired as well for she is now so proficient. Secondly, I am also inspired by how beauty bloggers on YouTube get transformed by just a swish of a brush or a “bounce” of a BeautyBlender sponge that makes me want to try them all out. One at a time, of course. Special mention goes to Sineadycady over at The Makeup Chair. She never forgets to do tutorials/lessons for beginners such as myself even though most of her followers are very proficient make up enthusiasts already.

2. What are 3 of your makeup Holy Grail products you cannot live without?

Well, simple, I can’t live without my eyebrow pencil/liner, lip balm and concealer. I might be persuaded to forego the lip balm and concealer but the eyebrow pencil/liner? NOOOO!!!

3. What is your makeup signature look which you have on most of the time?

During the day, I opt for the more casual and cool look with only my eyes as the highlight. I don’t think the hospital where I work for will take kindly to me causing erratic ECG readings on patients in the ER. Lol. Just kidding. However, when I go out for a date with hubby or a night out with friends, I try the sexy, sultry look which I have yet to perfect. Of course, the main feature again are my eyes. Really, I just think they’re lovely. Haha.

4. Let us know your favorite makeup brands?

I still don’t have a favorite for I am still trying them all out. Maybe in 3 months’ time???

5.  Your ultimate makeup pet peeve?

Seeing lipstick stain on another person’s teeth? I don’t know how to tell them that they got it, but I really do try to tell my very close friends when I spot it on them.

6. You’ve heard about all the hype on this makeup item, bought it, tried it and don’t understand what all the fuss is about…Name that product

I don’t know if you know Avon but I bought their Extra Lasting Liquid Eyeliner Pen and boy! was I disappointed. It not only smudges when applied but it sure does not do its name credit for I can erase it with my bare fingertips in seconds. Tsk tsk.

7. Concealer OR foundation ONLY for the rest of your life. Choose one and tell us the reason! 

As I said in Q2…concealer is one of the 3 Holy Grail of products that I cannot live without. I can go out without a foundation but without a concealer, I don’t think so. I don’t have eyebags even with all the less-than-eight-hours-sleep daily but I have dark circles that I really hate. It would take me to really get enough sleep (minimum 8 hours daily) for two whole weeks before these dark circles lighten up and I just don’t have that kind of luxury.

It was fun answering all the Qs for this award entry. I’m not expecting to win for its randomly picked but I hope others will be interested enough to nominate.

My nominees are (in random order):

Caryl Almelor, Polkadotparadiso, Diana Reese, Look Beyond Beauty, Emlotabblog, iBlushBeauty, & AlleyHope. If I could nominate Cecilia herself I would ‘coz I dig her blog, too!

Have fun y’all! Thanks for reading.

 

6 thoughts on “Beauty Blogger of the Month Nomination

  1. Heya just wanted to say that you wrote a really lovely and informative post! This award was made for everyone with any bit of makeup interests and I am glad that you participated as your amazing personality clearly shone through above 🙂
    Thank you for joining in the fun and good luck with your entry x

Leave a Reply

