Review: Birchbox UK June 2014

So, the next beauty box that I subscribed to was Birchbox UK.  For £10 monthly plus £2.95 P&P, I should expect to receive 5 luxury beauty products in the mail. What more, you get to earn 12 reward points just by subscribing. Of course, there are the 6-month and yearly subscription options you can also choose from with several perks to it. If you’re interested, subscribe to Birchbox now using my referral link.

Without further ado, here is my June 2014 Birchbox. Many of you must be aware that the football fever is very high in most countries right now, thus, this month’s Birchbox came with the cute football theme namely Global Strikers.

20140621_142341

As you can see in the photo above, the small pouch came with Brazil’s colors because the FIFA World Cup is being held there. Like my other previous review of a different subscription box, Birchbox came in a sturdy small box that held my five items. The cute pouch and the box itself are reusable so really there is no waste here.

IMG_20140621_143657

I received five items in the box with a welcome card, description card detailing the products and a very cute keychain following this month’s theme as well.

IMG_2737

The first item I tried out on my box is theBalm How ‘Bout Them Apples? cheek and lip cream. I had the PIE color for my sample. [Original size: £26.00 / 20g]

In my opinion: This cute cheek and lip cream is great to use. My sample although small (0.57g only) was enough for a few times’ use. It was easy to apply with a brush and the color sent to me was just the right tint for my skin color. It also has a lasting effect after application which is what I’m always looking for in such a product as I am not one to fuss about redoing or reapplying. I was very happy with this product and will definitely buy one in its full size. I just wish my sample was a bit bigger. Haha.

IMG_2735

I know of OPI Nail Lacquer even before I received this sample in my Birchbox. So, it came as no surprise that I was happy to receive it in my box. My sample of 3.75ml is part of the OPI Brazil Beach Sandies Mini Pack. Mine was in the shade of a fun, bright yellow with the cute name of You’re So Flippy Floppy. [Mini Pack of Four Shades: £14.50 / 4×3.75ml]

In my opinion: OPI Nail Lacquer never fails to make me smile with the names they come up with for their shades. I loved my yellow nail polish and have definitely used it more than once this summer. It brought a cheerful look to my hands and well, the polish itself was easy to apply with the brush it came with. However, I had to remove it right away because I am not allowed to have nail polish while on duty at the hospital. Just a friendly tip also, once you finish applying the polish make sure to apply a coat of transparent varnish to seal in the yellow polish.

IMG_2745

The third item in my Birchbox was Caudalie Vinoperfect SPF15 Day Perfecting Fluid. It came at the sample size of 0.33 fl oz. It’s supposed to be applied in the morning and can be used when going out under the sun this summer! [Original size: £38.00 / 40ml]

In my opinion: This is a perfect product to use during the daytime. It has a matte finish and prevents face and neck to be oily. I loved using Caudalie Vinoperfect SPF15 because it isn’t oily and I can see that my pores were minimized after applying. Sadly, the sample was very small and it looked like the content was a fifth of the package. Tsk tsk. Anyway, I’ll use it until I can buy it in its original size. Then I can splurge in my use!

naobay-body-radiance-lotion

The next item I tried on was Naobay Body Radiance Lotion which came at its 30ml sample size. [Original size: £14.00 / 250ml]

In my opinion: This product didn’t do well to make my skin ‘super soft’ as advertised. I applied it on my hands which are the most problematic areas of my skin and the results were okay. It moisturized it for a little while, but didn’t seem to have seeped into the next layer. Although I love the feel of it on the skin – certainly brought something fresh. And the smell was lovely if you like that organic-fruity kind of scent.

IMG_2744

Last but not the least, inside my June 2014 Birchbox is the much talked about BeautyBlender + Cleanser. [Price: £ 26.00]

In my opinion: This BeautyBlender certainly made me rethink about how makeup is done these days. As I confessed in my other post here, I am a neophyte when it comes to make up and beauty trends. Certainly this BeautyBlender did not disappoint. I tried it once and my foundation was spread evenly that my fingers or some of my brush fail to do. Additionally, my pores were not made to stand out. In fact, with this cute li’l sponge I was able to hide away my pores and some dark spots nicely. I’d definitely order more of this product to have on hand in case one gets lost (gasp!) or gets mangled by something. And if my sister is not using a BeautyBlender at present I will introduce it to her most certainly.

IMG_2746

By the way, the photo of the flip flop keychain is shown above. I have attached it to my flat’s main door keys. It’s a keeper for it brightens up my key ring. Hehe.

Overall my first Birchbox UK was not a disappointment. I think I got back my money’s worth.I hope my next box brings about more inspiration to my quest of learning about makeup and beauty trends.

Finally, a note to self: stop looking at Instagram posts of not-received-yet boxes so that there will be more of the surprise element. I can’t wait for my next box!

Thank you for reading.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Review: Birchbox UK June 2014

Leave a Reply

