Summer Lovin’ Readathon Progress

During the weekend I got out of focus, so today I am going to post my participation entries for Days 3, 4 and 5 of the Summer Lovin’ Readathon over at Read-a-thon Central.

Day 3 – Look at Me, I’m Sandra Dee

My favorite fictional female is…

I have several in mind because the books I love have very awesome female characters.  But for the purpose of this read-a-thon I picked Jennifer Cavilleri of Love Story by Erich Segal.  And I always see her as the young Ali MacGraw who starred in the film adaptation.

LoveStory2

Jenny was a strong, lovable character who was both book and street smart.  In the early 1970s (the period the novel was set), women were just starting to define themselves and speak for themselves.  Most of us participating in the read-a-thon may not have been born the time the novel was published, but I’m sure we have an inkling as to who she is or what the book is about.  I chose her as my absolute favorite because firstly, I was named after her.  My parents are self-proclaimed movie buffs, that’s why.  Secondly, I love that Erich Segal made her a strong female character who knew herself and has the determination to pursue what she wants, but still knows what is truly important as opposed to someone who just goes with the flow.

I’ve laughed.  I’ve cried.  I’ve gotten angry.  And I’ve felt devastated every time I read Love Story.  It is one of the novels that cuts deep within me.  Funny because when my husband read the book, he didn’t find anything extraordinary with it.  Told me that he couldn’t understand how I can get so caught up with the book.  Admittedly, its prose is not of the profound kind, but I always found it to the point.  Oh well, there’s no accounting for taste.  Really.  Hahaha.  Besides who wouldn’t want to be Jenny?

Day 4 – Tears on My Pillow

“To the woman my husband loves,

If it seems odd for you to read these words, please believe me when I tell you that it feels just as odd to write them.  Then again, nothing about this letter feels normal.  There’s so much I want to say, so much I want to tell you, and when I first put pen to paper, everything was clear in my mind.  Now, however, I find myself struggling and I’m not sure where to begin.

I can start by saying this: I’ve come to believe that in everyone’s life, there’s one undeniable moment of change, a set of circumstances that suddenly alters everything.  For me, that moment was meeting Alex.  Though I don’t know when or where you’re reading this, I know it means he loves you.  It also means he wants to share his life with you, and if nothing else, we will always have that in common.

My name, as you probably know, is Carly, but most of my life, my friends called me Jo…

…If you love Alex now, then love him forever.  Make him laugh again, and cherish the time you spend together.

…I also want you to love my children in the same way I do.  Help them with their homework and kiss their scraped elbows and knees when they fall.

…Please.  I beg you, do these things for me.  After all, they are your family now, not mine.”

The quote above is an excerpt from Nicholas Sparks’ Safe Haven.  I know the story is otherworldly, but the message in the letter from Alex’s deceased wife to Katie was very touching.  It brought a few tears to my eyes, I admit.  The reason?  It’s all in there.

Day 5 – Whole Lotta Shakin Goin On

Fujairah-20130707-00702

When I decided to join this read-a-thon (post here), I was already reading Black Hills and Whiskey Beach both by Nora Roberts, so it was a bit easy to add more to the challenge pile.  All in all, I wanted to finish six novels by the 7th.  So far, I’ve finished 4 (Black Hills, Whiskey Beach, Safe Haven, and Chasing Fire) out of 6.  I think I can accomplish my goal as I am now starting The Ideal Man by Julie Garwood.  I just have to put aside any chores that don’t warrant my immediate attention.  Hehe.

Two more days and the read-a-thon will come to an end.  However, in honor of my participation here, I plan to indulge myself to more books this coming weekend for I shall be in Dubai.  Yipee!  I can’t wait.  As I have several books on my list suggested by the other read-a-thon participants that I want to check out.

I wish everyone a great read-a-thon.  Happy reading!

 

Leave a Reply

