Joining in the “Summer Lovin’ Readathon” Fun

Inspired by Pretty Little Things in a Box‘s post, I decided to join in the fun.  The Readathon is a week-long activity sponsored by 7 bloggers (Oh, Chrys!, Tumbling Books, Effortlessly Reading, Love Life Read, Shelf Addiction, Read Sleep Repeat, and Reviewing Wonderland) with a challenge to conquer daily.  Sounds fun and looks fun, so I AM IN! 🙂  You can still join, if you’re up to the challenge.

Day 1 [Teaser Tidbits Challenge] – Closed

Day 2 [Cover Re-Do Challenge] – Closed

Day 3 [Page 99 Test] – Closed

Bummer, right?  However, I still have plenty of time to participate.  For Day 1, it is Class Orientation. I wonder who comes up with these cute post titles? Pretty neat. 🙂

Anyway, here goes…

My name is Jennifer, a Filipina nurse and a book lover from the beautiful land of desert and sand, the United Arab Emirates.  I’ve been living here for the last 20 months now and I’ve loved every minute of it except the sometimes unbearable desert summer.  I’ve been reading for pleasure since 6th grade and haven’t known how to stop myself.  The main downside of living two hours away from Dubai is the non-existence of decent bookstores.  I mean, if there is one present here in Fujairah (the emirate I’m residing) then I would be there daily after my duty at the hospital.  Hehehe.  I am partial to romance, suspense-thriller, goth/horror, and occasionally science fiction that catches my eye.  But any book you give me I’ll read it because I just can’t live without reading.  Pretty insane, eh?

My book collection here in the U.A.E. remains to be a handful, but since last year it is growing to the bane of my husband’s existence.  You see, when we moved here I had to ship all of my books to my family home and even my parents don’t know where to keep them.  Well, soon I’ll have my own personal library and they won’t have to cringe every time I buy more books.  That is one of my dreams, actually.

I joined this Readathon to have fun and add up my ‘To Be Read’ list.  And meet pretty amazing like-minded folks and peek into their own ‘book world’, so to speak.

So, I am sure I’ll enjoy every minute of this readathon.  Dear readers, what are you waiting for?  Sign up now!

One thought on “Joining in the “Summer Lovin’ Readathon” Fun

Leave a Reply

